Radar du Contrôle de Traffic Aérien

Baure, Jean-FrancoisClarke, DavidFuller, PaulShough, Martin Lawrence

Comme mentionné en section 3 nous avons obtenu des copies d'écran composites utiles de l'image radar du CTA de la Zone de Contrôle des îles anglo-normandes produite par le logiciel ELVIRA à partir des fichiers radar au format ASTERIX (un format standard européen pour la gestion des données radar). Nous ont aussi été fournis par le CTA de Jersey un playback radar ELVIRA complet de 24 h ainsi que les fichiers de données d'origine au format RDIF pour une période de plusieurs heures contenant la période d'observation. Cependant pour diverses raisons 1Il a transpiré que pour des raisons de licence commerciale le CTA de Jersey ne pouvait partager le logiciel permettant de visualiser les fichiers complets. Nous avions une expertise mathématique et informatique dans notre équipe, mais la tache d'écrire un visionneur pour visualiser les données était énorme et impracticable. Un logiciel commercial coûteux nécessitait des spécifications de prohibitifs. Des experts de la gestion du traffic aérien du Laboratoire Aérospatial National néerlandais (NLR) d'Amsterdam firent partie des nombreuses personnes qui fournirent un conseil utile et offrirent de visualiser les données pour nous mais uniquement dans le cadre d'un contrat commercial. Cependant à une première étape nous avons eu une discussion avec le GEIPAN qui indiqua un interêt possible en raison de la localisation de l'incident. Le Dr. Clarke rencontra en directeur du GEIPAN Jacques Patenet offrant un échange d'informations et demandant spécifiquement l'expertise du CNES pour aider à accéder aux fichiers de données radar fournis par le CTA de Jersey. Lorsque nous rencontrèrent des difficultés à trouver un logiciel accessible nous revîment vers le GEIPAN, mais nous avons maintenant appris (via la tierce partie déjà mentionnée) que le GEIPAN ne pouvait offrir de coopération, et que de plus ils avaient en fait procédé à une approche indépendante du CTA de Jersey pour les mêmes fichiers de données, et que le spécialiste du CTA travaillant avec le GEIPAN ne pourrait partager le logiciel de visualisation radar avec nous. Etant donné l'accès officiel du GEIPAN aux installations et à l'expertise nous en avons conclu que la duplication d'efforts serait en pure perte pour nos ressources limitées. Nous avons décidé de nous concentrer sur d'autres aspects de l'enquête et d'attendre l'achêvement de l'étude détaillées des fichiers radar par le GEIPAN. la discussion qui suit est limitée à l'information contenue dans le format de copies d'écran composite. Nous discutons par la suite dans quelle mesure cette limitation affecte les conclusions présentes.

L'espace aérien contrôlé s'étend de la surface à 18000 pieds dans toute la Zone des îles anglo-normandes. Il est géré par le centre de Contrôle de Traffic Aérien à l'Aéroport des Etats de Jersey, où l'image radar est assemblée à partir de 2 sources radar. L'antenne du SSR (Radar de Surveillance Secondaire) située à Jersey fournit des signaux issus de traffic aérien équipé de transpondeur 2Le faisceau du transpondeur à bord de l'appareil envoie des réponses automatiques à des interrogations reçues du radar au sol. Des réponses codées identifient l'appareil sur l'écran radar avec les altitudes dérivées de l'altimètre de pression de l'appareil, tandis que les échos primaires du traffic nontranspondeur et d'autres cibles radar sont fournis alimentés par une antenne PSR (Primary Surveillance Radar) séparée située sur l'île de Guernesey.

En plus des tracés SSR d'appareils équipés de transpondeurs le radar du CTA montrait un grand nombre de contacts primaires (échos de pulsations radar par des objets ou surfaces réfléchissants) détectés par la tête radar de Guernesey. La plupart de ces contacts étaient impossibles à identifier avec certitude d'après l'affichage synthétique plot-extracted fourni par ELIVIRA (voir figure 11). On doit s'attendre à ce que certains soient dûs à des oiseaux de mer, vaisseaux de surface et autres réflecteurs courants, combinés à de la propagation anormale comme le suspecta à l'origine le contrôleur Paul Kelly.

Lors du 1er contact avec Jersey, le capitaine Bowyer demanda simplement à Kelly si le radar montrait un traffic quelconque qui soit directement devant lui à ses 12 h. Kelly répondit par la négative. Cependant il informa qu'il y avait bien une cible primaire s'affichant à 11 h à 4 miles de l'appareil. A 14:11:11 Kelly informa Bowyer qu'il y avait une cible primaire maintenant à 10 h à 3 miles de l'appareil, mais suggéra qu'il puisse s'agir d'un écho de propagation anormale. Quelques contacts primaires sont visibles près de la trajectoire de vol autour de 10-15 miles nautiques au nord-nord-est d'ORTAC sur la carte radar en figure 7. Le Trislander parait les avoir laissés derrière lui. Ils ne semblent pas liés à l'objet observé visuellement.

Ce n'est pas avant 14:14:23 que Kelly répondit à une autre demande du capitaine Bowyer suite au fait qu'il avait maintenant eu une cible primaire - un unique blob - autour de 8 miles à l'ouest d'Aurigny au voisinage des Casquets. Bowyer commenta que cela pourrait correspondre à la position of de l'un des PANs. Cet echo était toujours là à 14:15 lorsque Kelly demanda au FlyBe 146 de chercher le contact visual d'une cible principale, sous lui à environ 1 mile sur leur droite, à nouveau au voisinage des Casquets. Le FlyBe ne put voir quoi que ce soit.

Figure 11 - Copie d'écran composite de l'image radar du CTA montrant des échos primaires dans la zone d'observation
Fig.11 Composite screenshot of ATC radar picture showing primary echoes in the sighting area.

Dans son rapport CAA Paul Kelly décrivit cet écho comme une propanormale peut-être associée à l'un des objets. Il nous confirma par la suite 3 Conversation téléphonique avec Jean-Francois Baure. et indépendamment du capitaine Bowyer qu'il était instable ou "décousu", et qu'à son avis il ne s'agissait probablement pas d'une cible solide. Cependant la position de cet écho - à environ 1 mile sur la droite du FlyBe vers 14:15 - aurait été proche de la position à 14:15 d'une cible lente assez proéminente tracée en train de se déplacer vers le nord de Guernesey, montrée comme la piste B en figure 12. Tandis que ceci pourrait peut-être être décrit comme "décousu" 4 La variété des couleurs à l'écran utilisées pour des tracés successifs en figure 11 indique cela. La trajectoire globale vue ici n'est pas produite automatiquement par un logiciel de plot-extraction ; plutôt, les ingénieurs du radar de Jersey ont fait une sélection manuelle d'une séquence apparemment liée de courts segments de trajectoire. Le logiciel a alloué des couleurs au hasard pour chaque nouveau segment. Une trajectoire non brisée garderait la même couleur, et donc nous pouvons voir que cette trajectoire a de nombreux points de données manquants. il parait être une trajectoire assez bien définie plutôt qu'une propagation anormale sporadique.

Il a été vite suspecté que ceci et une autre trajectoire (trajectoire A, figure 12), semblable mais se déplaçant vers le sud à quelques noeuds, pourraient être des vaisseaux de surface sur des routes entre les îles anglo-normandes et les ports de la côte sud de l'Angleterre. Le capitaine Bowyer fit remarquer :

Il y a un certain nombre de faux retours primaires mais il y a aussi cependant 2 pistes très définies chacune durant autour de 1 h puis disparaissant, l'une, le plus proche voyageant au nord à environ 10 kts, la 2nde voyageant au sud à une vitesse similaire à 5 miles plus à l'ouest. Ils paraissaient être à la position correcte depuis mon point de vue 5En fait l'axe de vision vers la piste la plus à 'louest (A) serait plusieurs degrés au-delà de la limite ouest du cap des PANs qui est délimitée par le phare des Casquets. La piste B pourrait approche d'assez près la position du PAN n° 1 telle que triangulée par les axes de vision (voir section 3).

Il est possible qu'il pourrait s'agir de navires, le retour primaire étant très sound et speed conducive with a ship, cependant, aucun grand voyage de vaisseau du côté ouest de Guernesey et le tracé du côté est ne coincident avec aucun service régulier out of Guernesey as far as I can ascertain 6Email du capitaine Bowyer à Dave Clarke, 24.06.07.

Figure 12 - Tracés radar de 2 pistes d'écho en déplacement lent (A < B), indiquant des positions simultanées de la piste B et du FlyBe BAe146 à 1415Z
Fig. 12 Radar plots of two slow-moving primary echo tracks (A & B), indicating simultaneous positions of track B and FlyBe BAe146 at 1415Z

Les horaires des routes de ferries entre Saint Malo, les îles anglo-normandes, et les ports de le côte sud d'Angleterre ont été étudiés et des demandes ont été faites auprès du Harbourmaster de Saint Malo 7 Email de Bruno Lassus, Le Commandant de Port, autorité portuaire de Saint Malo, à Jean-François Baure, 17.07.2007. Un 2nd navire, le NOLA, partant de Saint Malo pour Amsterdam le soir précédent, aurait également pu être dans la zone.. Les heures de voyages sont sujettes à changements en raison de la météo et des variations de marée et il n'a pas été possible de localiser des enregistrements des heures exactes de sailing du jour. Mais les éléments suggèrent que 1 écho (la piste B en figure 12) pourrait être un vaisseau des Brittany Ferries se dirigeant vers le nord 8 MV BRETAGNE prévu pour quitter Saint Malo à 09:45Z et arrivant à Portsmouth à 19:30Z, atteignant le voisinage d'Aurigny à peu près à 14:30Z. Des demandes auprès du Harbourmaster de Guernesey ont révélé 9Lettre de AJB Pattimore, Harbourmaster ajoint, autorité portuaire de Guernesey, à Paul Fuller, 14 août 2007. que tous les sailings reguliers avaient traversé le canal de Little Russel sur le côté est de Guernesey délimité par le phare de Little Russel (ou Roustel) situé au large du point nord-ouest de l'île de Herm. Si la piste B est extrapolée vers le sud elle passe à peu près à travers ce channel (voir figure 13).

Figure 13 - Routes de navigation de navires dans les îles anglo-normandes (adapté de Multimap)
Fig.13 Shipping navigation routes in the Channel Islands (adapted from Multimap)

La piste radar passant à l'ouest de Guernesey (piste A en figure 12) est aussi proche d'une route de navigation allant vers l'extrêmité sud-ouest de Guernesey (via la Lumière de Hanois puis nord-nord-ouest) et une autre route depuis Saint Helier, Jersey (figure 13). Mais le seul vaisseau de taille quelconque dans ces environs ce jour-là, selon les enregistrements du Harbourmaster de Guernesey, était un vaisseau nommé Agility qui quitta Guernesey à 11:04 Alpha (un fuseau horaire militaire équivalent à CET ou BST, i.e. GMT+1 = 10:04Z), soit 4 h avant le début de l'observation. Ce n'est pas seulement le mauvais cadre horaire pour la piste ouest que nous voyons sur le radar ; l'Agility était outward bound pour Milford Haven, Wales, tandis que la piste radar était dirigée vers le sud 10Notez que la projection de cette piste sur la surface de la mer à 30-40 miles nautiques de distance de l'antenne radar de Jersey approcherait le double de la distance d'horizon normale depuis le radar, et il peut être montré que même dans des conditions de trapping radio (plus severe que les conditions moderately super-refractive pour lesquelles il y a evidence) cela résiderait entièrement dans l'ombre radar de l'île de Guernesey. Ces contacts primaires sont fournis à l'image radar depuis l'antenne située sur l'île de Guernesey..

Figure 14 - Une copie d'écran ELVIRA de tracés primaires dans la zone de Guernesey, fusionnée avec la carte radar de base montrant les positions visuelles triangulées des PANs (d'après la section 3, Fig.7). Notez la faible densité de cibles à l'intérieur du radio de 20 miles nautiques de l'antenne de Guernesey.
Fig.14 An ELVIRA screenshot of primary plots in the Guernsey area merged with the base radar map showing triangulated visual UAP positions (from Section 3. Fig.7). Note low target density inside 20nmi radius of the Guernsey antenna.

Les demandes initiales n'arrivèrent donc pas à prouver de manière concluante que l'une de ces cibles était un navire, mais trouvèrent une probabilité raisonnable dans au moins 1 cas. Si les enregistrements du Harbourmaster de Guernesey sont complets alors l'autre cible reste non-identifiée, bien qu'un navire plus petit non enregistré soit une possibilité 11 La passagère du Trislander Kate Russell observa un "petit bateau de pêche" devant l'avion en direction des PANs (voir section 3 < annexe B). Des vaisseaux côtiers, de petits navires cargo, des ferries et assimilés ne seraient pas nécessairement gouvernés par les règles obligatoires de séparation du traffic. Ils pourrait aussi s'agir de navires voyous non-répertoriés opérant sur des routes désignées. Un communiqué de presse de novembre 2003 du groupe d'assurance marine North of England P indiqua : "La règle 10 sur la conduite des navires dans des schémas de séparation de traffic est une des sections les plus fréquemment incomprises des Règles Internationales IMO de 1972 pour la Prévention des Collisions en Mer,' ...‘Des journaux radio à, disons, Dover en England ou Ushant en France montrent clairement les problèmes qui surviennent, avec des navires voyous qui sont régulièrement signalés,' dit le Dr Anderson. ‘A part d'accroître le risque de collisions, les capitaines et propriétaires des vessels contrevenants peuvent faire l'objet de poursuites criminelles, amendes lourdes et délais coûteux.'. Nous avons sondé l'opinion d'ingénieurs du radar de Jersey. Ils étaient 99 % certains que ces 2 pistes étaient des navires on shipping lanes qui étaient clairement visibles sur ...un playback des données PSR de Guernesey PSR 12Email de Simon Langlois à David Clarke 26.09.07. Aucuns échos évident de PANs ne purent être identifiés et il n'apparait n'y avoir spécifiquement aucun tracés intéressants correspondant aux positions de PANs triangulées en figure 7. Cependant cela ne permet pas de conclure.

Comme Paul Kelly l'a initialement avancé dans son rapport CAA, et comme cela l'a été aussi reconnu dans la réponse du MoD (annexe A), les échos de réflecteurs stationnaires montrant une différence réduite ou de 0 dans la différence de phase pulsation-à-pulsation auraient pu être entièrement éliminés par l'indicateur de cible en mouvement (MTI) qui était en action sur le radar. L'impression du capitaine Bowyer, étayée par la triangulation cohérente des axes de vision développée en section 3, fut que les PANs visuels semblaient être stationnaires ou en mouvement très lent.

Un examen de la figure 11 révèle, à côté des affichages couleur peau de traffic transpondeur connu (courbes mauves), de nombreux autres échos primaires dans la zone qui ne furent à l'évidence pas supprimés par le MTI. Certaines pistes semblent être ce qui pourrait être des appareils VFR légers opérant à basse altitude ou peut-être de petits bateaux, mais il existe de nombreux tracés isolés et des pistes erratiques courtes.

La nature de ce fouillis de fond est incertaine. Des cibles en mouvement telles que des oiseaux ou même des vagues de la mer sont des exemples de reflecteurs qui pourraient passer à travers une large grille de MTI. De l'avis de Simon Langlois la plupart des échos sont très peu susceptibles d'être des oiseaux en raison de la portée de l'antenne, et peu susceptibles d'être un retour de la mer en raison des faibles hauteurs de vagues dans les conditions météo qui prévalaient alors. Cependant nous avons trouvé (section 5) des indices de super-réfractivité radar modérée qui auraient pu contribuer à un fond transitoire accru issu de sources de faible échos de surface. Nous avons été informés par Simon Langlois que bien que la grille distance-azimut sur le filtre du MTI de Jersey ait été fixé au maximum (paramétrage n° 3), pour une suppression maximum du fond et des cibles lentes non pertinentes, le radar de Guernesey est habituellement opéré avec un rejet MTI à un paramétrage plus bas et par conséquent repère un plus grand nombre d'échos primaires. La grande majorité des cibles non-aéronautiques apparaissant dans les figures 11 < 14 furent détectées par l'antenne de Guernesey.

On verra d'après la figure 14 que nombre de ces échos ont été supprimé dans les 20 miles nautiques de l'antenne de Guernesey. Ce fut l'oeuvres des ingénieurs radar du CTA de Jersey à la demande du capitaine Bowyer afin de clarifier les 2 pistes (A et B en figure 12) maintenant suspectées d'être des navires. Clairement la densité d'échos de fond transitoires au sein de ce rayon est plus grande que montré, et on peut imaginer qu'il y ait des traces de cibles primaires en mouvement lent près des positions triangulées des PANs qui sont supprimées de cette vue. Même en-dehors de ce rayon de 20 miles nautiques il est possible que des noeuds denses de pistes (e.g., au sommet droit, près d'Aurigny) ait pu masquer l'écho d'une cible primaire en mouvement lent. Peut-être la triangulation contient-elle des sources d'erreur ?

Clairement une analyse complète de tous les tracés primaires est nécessaire, pour laquelle nous attendons le résultat de l'analyse du GEIPAN. Mais whilst granting les limitations de notre étude, nous feel it advisable d'avertir qu'il pourrait n'y avoir aucun test concluant pour séparer le signal anormale du fouillis. Nous avons été informés par l'ingénieur radar du CTA Simon Langlois 13Ibid que les données brutes d'écho primaire sont irrécupérablement traitées et numérisées aux têtes radar avant d'être fournies à la salle de contrôle radar sous la forme de symboles extraits des tracés 14Il s'agit d'une solution d'ingéniérie courante au problème de bande passante. Un extracteur de tracé (parfois appelé "évaluateur de cible" aux USA ; des termes associés incluent Détection et Suivi Automatique [ADT] et track-while-scan) utilise un logiciel prédictif pour associer des pistes aux cibles et lisser le rythme de mise à jour. Il produit un affichage visuel synthétique ayant une plus grande clarté, continuité de piste et luminosité que les "blips" mis à jour une seule fois par scan sur un PPI traditionnel. Il est également facile d'insérer des informations de cible alphanumériques en temps réel dans la video, le travail de l'opérateur en étant ainsi grandement facilité. De plus l'information dans les raw radar pulse forms est gourmande en bande passante, nécessitant un câblage spécial entre l'antenne et l'affichage, qui n'est pas toujours practicable. Donc si la numérisation du tracé est effectuée à la tête radar la bande passante nécessaire pour la transmission de données entre l'antenne et l'affichage peut être réduite d'un facteur de peut-être 10 000 Mhz jusqu'à quelques centaines de Hz, permettant l'utilisation de lignes téléphoniques ou de canaux radio normaux de sorte que l'antenne et l'affichage peut si nécessaire être séparé ar l'océan, comme dans ce cas.. Ainsi même si des PANs réflecteurs de radar en mouvement lent dans la zone avaient retourné des échos primaires dont la vitesse dépassait le seuil de rejet MTI (peut-être seulement de manière transitoire) 15Les échos de glint depuis essentiellement des cibles stationnaires pourraient aussi mener à une détection. Un écho radar est généralement la somme de nombreux front d'ondes différents avec des phases différentes, et là où un objet asymmétrique ou un objet avec une structure complexe subit une rotation sans translation bulk la phase barycentre de l'écho pourrait se déplacer hors du volume géométrique du réflecteur. Si ce déplacement est suffisamment grand et/ou rapide cela pourrait mettre en échec le filtre MTI., le type de repères de présentation echo-diagnostic à l'écran généralement disponible pour les opérateurs de radars primaires analogues sont définitivement perdus. Il pourrait rester impossible de distinguer avec assurance un tracé significatif du fond de tracés de fouillis insignifiants.

Air Traffic Control radar

Baure, Jean-FrancoisClarke, DavidClarke, DavidFuller, PaulFuller, PaulShough, Martin Lawrence, February 2008

As mentioned in Section 3 we had obtained useful composite screenshots of the Channel Islands Control Zone ATC radar picture produced by the ELVIRA software from radar files in ASTERIX format (a European standard format for radar data management). We were also provided by Jersey ATC with a complete 24-hour ELVIRA radar playback and original data files in RDIF format for a period of several hours containing the sighting period. However for various reasons n1For commercial licensing reasons it transpired that Jersey ATC were unable to share the software for viewing the complete files. We had mathematical and computing expertise in our team, but the task of writing a viewer to visualise the data was a huge and impracticable one. Costly commercial software required prohibitive machine specifications. Air traffic management experts at the Dutch National Aerospace Laboratory (NLR) in Amsterdam were among many who provided helpful advice and offered to visualise the data for us but only under a commercial contract. However at an early stage we had discussion with GEIPAN who indicated a possible interest owing to the location of the incident. Dr. Clarke met in Italy with GEIPAN's director Jacques Patenet offering an exchange of information and specifically requesting CNES expertise to assist with accessing the radar data files provided by Jersey ATC. When we encountered difficulties finding accessible software we reverted to GEIPAN, but we now learned (via the third party already mentioned) that GEIPAN were unable to offer cooperation, moreover that they had in fact made an independent approach to Jersey ATC for the same data files, and that the ATC specialist working with GEIPAN would be unable to share the radar visualisation software with us. Given GEIPAN's official access to facilities and expertise we concluded that duplication of effort would be a waste of our limited resources. We decided to focus on other aspects of the investigation and await the completion of GEIPAN's detailed study of the radar files. the following discussion is limited to the information contained in composite screenshot format. We discuss later the extent to which this limitation affects present conclusions.

Controlled airspace extends from the surface to 18000 feet throughout the Channel Islands Zone. It is managed from the Air Traffic Control centre at Jersey States Airport, where the radar picture is assembled from two radar sources. The SSR (Secondary Surveillance Radar) antenna sited on Jersey provides signals from transponder-equipped air traffic n2The aircraft's onboard radar transponder beacon sends automatic replies to interrogations received from the ground radar. Coded replies identify the aircraft on the radar screen alongside altitudes derived from the aircraft's pressure altimeter, whilst primary echoes from nontransponder traffic and other radar targets are provided by a feed from a separate PSR (Primary Surveillance Radar) antenna sited on the island of Guernsey.

In addition to the SSR plots of transponder-carrying aircraft the ATC radar showed a large number of primary contacts (echoes of radar pulses from reflective objects or surfaces) detected by the Guernsey radar head. Most of these contacts were impossible to positively identify from the plot-extracted synthetic display provided by ELIVIRA (see Fig. 11). It is to be expected that some are due to sea birds, surface ships and other commonplace reflectors, in combination with anomalous propagation as originally suspected by Controller Paul Kelly.

On first contact with Jersey, Capt Bowyer simply asked Kelly if radar showed any traffic directly ahead of him in his 12 o'clock. Kelly replied in the negative. However he did advise that there was a primary target showing at 11 o'clock 4 miles from the aircraft. At 1411:11 Kelly advised Bowyer that there was a primary target now 10 o'clock 3 miles from the aircraft, but suggested it might be an anomalous propagation echo. A few primary contacts are visible close to the flight track around 10-15nmi NNE of ORTAC on the radar map in Fig.7. The Trislander appears to leave these behind. They appear unrelated to the object observed visually.

Not until 1414:23 did Kelly reply to another query from Capt Bowyer to the effect that he now had a primary target - a single blob - about 8 miles W of Alderney in the vicinity of the Casquets. Bowyer commented that this could fit the position of one of the UAPs. This echo was still there at 1415 when Kelly asked the FlyBe 146 to look for a visual on a primary target, below them about 1 mile on their right, again in the vicinity of the Casquets. The FlyBe was unable to see anything.

Fig.11 Composite screenshot of ATC radar picture showing primary echoes in the sighting area.
Fig.11 Composite screenshot of ATC radar picture showing primary echoes in the sighting    area.

In his CAA report Paul Kelly described this echo as anaprop possibly associated with one of the objects. He confirmed to us later n3 Telephone conversation with Jean-Francois Baure. and independently to Capt Bowyer that it was unstable or ragged, and that in his opinion it was probably not a solid target. However this echo position - about 1 mile on the right of FlyBe at about 1415 - would be close to the 1415 position of one quite prominent slow target plotted moving north of Guernsey, shown as Track B in Fig 12. Whilst this could possibly be described as ragged n4 The variety of screen colours used for successive plots in Fig 11 indicates this. The overall track seen here is not produced automatically by plot-extraction software; rather, Jersey radar engineers have made a manual selection of an apparently connected sequence of short track segments. The software has allocated colours at random for each new segment. An unbroken track would retain the same colour, so we can see that this track has many missing data points. it appears to be a fairly definite track rather than sporadic anomalous propagation.

It was suspected early on that this and another track (Track A, Fig.12), similar but moving southbound at a few knots, could be surface ships on routes between the Channel Islands and the south coast ports of England. Capt Bowyer noted:

There are a number of spurious primary returns but there are also however two very definite tracks each lasting around an hour and then disappearing, one, the closest travelling north at about 10 kts, the second travelling south at a similar speed five miles further west. They would appear to be in the correct position from my point of view n5 In fact the line of sight to the westernmost track (A) would be several degrees beyond the western limit of the bearing to the UAPs which is delimited by the Casquets Lighthouse. Track B could quite close to the location of UAP #1 as triangulated by the lines of sight (see Section 3).

It is possible that they may be ships as the primary return is very sound and speed conducive with a ship, however, no large vessels travel on the west side of Guernsey and the East side plot does not coincide with any regular service out of Guernsey as far as I can ascertain n6Email from Capt Bowyer to Dave Clarke, 24.06.07.

Fig. 12 Radar plots of two slow-moving primary echo tracks (A & B), indicating simultaneous positions of track B and FlyBe BAe146 at 1415Z
Fig. 12 Radar plots of two slow-moving primary echo tracks (A & B), indicating simultaneous positions of    track B and FlyBe BAe146 at 1415Z

Timetables of ferry routes between St. Malo, the Channel Islands, and the south coast ports of England were studied and inquiries were made of the St. Malo Harbourmaster n7 Email from Bruno Lassus, Le Commandant de Port, St.Malo port authority, to J-F.Baure, 17.07.2007. A second vessel, the NOLA, departing St Malo for Amsterdam the previous evening, may also have been in the area.. Journey times are subject to change due to weather and tidal variation and it was not possible to locate records of the day's exact sailing times. But evidence suggests that one echo (Track B in Fig.12) could be a northbound Brittany Ferries vessel n8 MV BRETAGNE, see https://www.brittany-ferries.co.uk/index.cfm?articleid=149 scheduled to leave St Malo at 09:45Z and arriving in Portsmouth at 19:30Z, reaching the vicinity of Alderney at approximately 14:30Z. Inquiries to the Guernsey Harbourmaster disclosed n9Letter from AJB Pattimore, Deputy Harbourmaster, Guernsey Harbour Authority, to Paul Fuller, 14 Aug 2007. that all regular sailings would traverse the Little Russel channel on the east side of Guernsey delimited by the Little Russel (or Roustel) Lighthouse located off the northwest point of the island of Herm. If Track B is extrapolated southward it passes approximately through this channel (see Fig.13).

Fig.13 Shipping navigation routes in the Channel Islands (adapted from Multimap)
Fig.13 Shipping navigation routes in the Channel Islands (adapted from Multimap)

The radar track passing to the W of Guernsey (Track A in Fig.12) is also close to a navigation route heading around the SW tip of Guernsey (via the Hanois Light and then NNW) and another route from St Helier, Jersey (Fig.13). But the only vessel of any size in this vicinity on that day, according to the Guernsey Harbourmaster's records, was a vessel called the Agility which left Guernsey at 11:04 Alpha (a military time zone equivalent to CET or BST, i.e. GMT+1 = 10:04Z), or four hours before the start of the sighting. This is not only the wrong time frame for the western track we see on the radar; the Agility was outward bound for Milford Haven, Wales, whilst the radar track is headed south n10Note that the projection of this track on the sea surface 30-40nmi away from the Jersey radar antenna would be approaching twice the normal horizon distance from the radar, and it can be shown that even in radio trapping conditions (more severe than the moderately super-refractive conditions for which there is evidence) it would lie entirely in the radar-shadow of the Island of Guernsey. These primary contacts are fed in to the radar picture from the antenna sited on the island of Guernsey ..

Fig.14 An ELVIRA screenshot of primary plots in the Guernsey area merged with the base radar map showing triangulated visual UAP positions (from Section 3. Fig.7). Note low target density inside 20nmi radius of the Guernsey antenna.
Fig.14 An ELVIRA screenshot of primary plots in the Guernsey area merged with the base radar map showing    triangulated visual UAP positions (from Section 3. Fig.7). Note low target density inside 20nmi radius of the    Guernsey antenna.

So initial inquiries fell short of proving conclusively that either of these targets was a ship, but found a reasonable probability in at least one case. If the Guernsey Harbourmaster's records are complete then the other target remains unidentified, although an unrecorded smaller ship is a possibility n11 Trislander passenger Kate Russell observed a little fishing boat ahead of the plane in the direction of the UAPs (see Section 3 & Appendix B). Coastal vessels, small cargo ships, ferries and the like would not necessarily be governed by the mandatory traffic separation rules. There might also be unregistered rogue vessels operating on designated routes. A Nov 2003 Press Release from the marine insurance group North of England P&I stated: Rule 10 on the conduct of vessels in traffic-separation schemes is one of the most frequently misunderstood sections of the IMO's 1972 International Regulations for Prevention of Collisions at Sea,' . . . 'Radio logs at, say, Dover in England or Ushant in France provide clear evidence of the problems that arise, with rogue vessels being regularly reported,' says Dr Anderson. 'Apart from increasing the risk of collisions, masters and owners of contravening vessels can face criminal action, heavy fines and costly delays.'. We sought the opinion of Jersey radar engineers. They were 99% certain that both of these tracks were ships on shipping lanes that were clearly visible on . . . playback of Guernsey PSR data n12Email from Simon Langlois to David Clarke 26.09.07. No obvious UAP echoes could be identified and specifically there appear to be no interesting plots corresponding to the UAP positions triangulated in Fig.7. However this is inconclusive.

As Paul Kelly initially pointed out in his CAA report, and as was also acknowledged in the MoD response (Appendix A), echoes from stationary reflectors showing small or zero pulse-to-pulse phase difference could have been entirely eliminated by the moving target indicator (MTI) which was operating on the radar. The impression of Capt Bowyer, supported by the consistent triangulation of lines of sight developed in Section 3, was that the visual UAPs appeared to be either stationary or very slow moving.

Examination of Fig. 11 reveals, aside from skin paints of known transponder traffic (purple curves), numerous other primary echoes in the area which were evidently not suppressed by MTI. Some tracks appear which may be VFR light aircraft operating at low altitude or possibly small boats, but there are many isolated plots and short, erratic tracks.

The nature of this clutter background is uncertain. Moving targets such as birds and even sea waves are examples of reflectors that might get through a broad MTI gate. In Simon Langlois' opinion most of the echoes are very unlikely to be due to birds because of range from the antenna, and unlikely to be sea return because of small wave heights in the prevailing weather conditions. However we found (Section 5) evidence of moderate radar super-refractivity which could have contributed to increased transient clutter from weak surface echo sources. We were advised by Simon Langlois that although the range-azimuth gate on the Jersey MTI filter was set at maximum (setting #3), for maximum suppression of clutter and irrelevant slow targets, the Guernsey radar is customarily operated with MTI rejection at a lower setting and therefore picks up a larger number of primary echoes. The vast majority of the non-aircraft targets appearing in Figs 11 & 14 were detected by the Guernsey antenna.

It will be seen from Fig.14 that many of these echoes have been suppressed within a 20nmi radius of the Guernsey antenna. This was done by Jersey ATC radar engineers at the request of Capt Bowyer in order to clarify the two tracks (A and B in Fig 12) now suspected to be ships. Clearly the density of transient clutter echoes within this radius is greater than shown, and conceivably there could be traces of slow-moving primary targets near the triangulated UAP locations which are suppressed in this view. Even outwith this 20nmi radius it is possible that dense knots of tracks (e.g., at the top right, near Alderney) could obscure echo from a slowmoving primary target. Perhaps the triangulation contains sources of error?

Clearly a complete analysis of all primary plots is required, for which we await the result of the GEIPAN analysis. But whilst granting the limitations of our study, we feel it advisable to caution that there may be no conclusive test for separating anomalous signal out of the noise background. We were informed by ATC radar engineer Simon Langlois n13Ibid that the raw primary echo data is irrecoverably processed and digitised at the radar heads before being fed to the radar control room in the form of plot-extracted symbols n14This is a common engineering solution to the problem of bandwidth. A plot extractor (sometimes called target evaluator in the US; related terms include Automated Detection and Tracking [ADT] and track-while-scan) uses predictive software to associate tracks to targets and smooth the update rate. It produces a synthetic visual display which has greater clarity, track continuity and brightness than the blips updated only once per scan on a traditional PPI. It is also easy to insert alphanumeric target information in real time into the video and so the burdens on the operator are greatly eased. Moreover the information in the raw radar pulse forms is bandwidth-hungry, requiring special cabling between antenna and display, which is not always practicable. So if the plot digitisation is done at the radar head the bandwidth required for data transmission between the antenna and the display can be reduced by a factor of perhaps 10,000 from Mhz down to a few hundred Hz, allowing the use of ordinary telephone landlines or radio channels so that antenna and display can if necessary be separated by the ocean, as in this case. . Thus even if slow-moving radar-reflective UAPs in the area did return primary echoes whose velocity exceeded the MTI rejection threshold (perhaps only transiently) n15Glint echoes from essentially stationary targets might also lead to detection. Radar echo is generally the sum of many different wavefronts with different phases, and where an asymmetrical object or an object with a complex structure undergoes rotation without bulk translation the phase centroid of the echo might move outside the geometrical volume of the reflector. If this displacement is sufficiently large and/or rapid it might defeat the MTI filter., the type of echo-diagnostic scope presentation cues traditionally available to primary analogue radar operators are permanently lost. It may remain impossible to confidently distinguish a significant plot from the background of insignificant clutter plots.