Les planètes

Home  >  La science et l'hypothèse extraterrestre en ufologie

Alors qu'il n'y a pratiquement aucune confusion sur le grand nombres d'étoiles adéquates, il y a un désaccord apparent sur les systèmes planétairs autour d'elles. Ce "debat" s'évapore en une quasi-uniformité d'opinion une fois qu'il est unraveled, cependant. Les planétologues et astronomes d'observation are arguing about whether clear evidence exists as yet for an extra-solar planetary system, leading some listeners, perhaps, to conclude that scientists think that planets are rare. Actually, astronomers are nearly universal in their belief that although planets are extremely difficult to detect with our current tools, they are commonplace, almost ubiquitous in the galactic disk. David Black, un des planétologues les plus éminent, a déclaré que Les théories planétaires actuelles suggèrent que les planètes devraient être la règle plutôt que l'exception Black 1987. En fait il affirme que si, une fois que notre technologie s'améliore, nous n'arrivons pas à trouver de grands nombres d'autres systèmes planétaires, nous devrons réviser toute notre théorie sur la formation d'étoile.

La confiance en l'existence de nombreux systèmes planétaires n'est pas basée que sur de la pure théorie. Plusieurs lignes de recherche ont indiqué la probabilité écrasante de tels systèmes. Elles incluent :

  1. Puisque, en termes de mécanismes de formation, étoiles et planètes ne diffèrent les unes des autres qu'en terme de quantité de masse originellement impliquée dans leur condensation, la formation d'une 2nde étoile orbitant près d'une primaire n'est essentiellement pas différente de la formation d'une grosse planète. Les étoiles multiples sont, par conséquent, des systèmes planétaires où au moins 1 "planète" s'est condensée à partir d'un lump of the cloud qui était si grand qu'il a permis une fusion nucléaire dans le coeur, et la "planète" est devenue auto-lumineuse, une 2nde étoile. Nous pouvons voir et compter de tels "systèmes planétaires" assez facilement. Près de la moitié des étoiles de notre disque semble être dans de tels systèmes, et sur la base de cette seule observation le phénomène d'une plus grande masse avec de plus petites masses lui étant alliées doit être courant. A moins qu'il y ait quelque chose d'imprévisiblement unique sur les objets de taille stellaire qui favorise leur formation tout en bloquant celle d'objets de la taille d'une planète légèrement plus petits, les systèmes planétaires doivent au moins être aussi courants que les étoiles doubles.
  2. Notre propre système solaire produit plusieurs, pas un, exemples de ces systèmes. Non seulement do we have our system at large, mais aussi plusieurs mini-systèmes dans les lunes des planètes joviennes. De grands centres-de-masse en rotation semblent acquérir naturellement des corps secondaires tournant autour d'eux. Un fait supplémentaire intriguant que la composition en éléments de notre système solaire correspond précisément à la composition du disque galactique mène à une intuition supplémentaire quant à la normalité de notre situation. Etant donnés similar basic materials and forces, ce qui a eut lieu ici devrait avoir eu lieu ailleurs dans la galaxie as standard practice. Les planétologues proéminents John Lewis et Ronald Prinn disent  : Il est largement, mais pas universellement, accepté que les étoiles se forme à partir de nébuleuses modéremment denses constitués de gaz et de poussières avec overall elemental abundances essentially identical to those in the sun and in other normal (Main Sequence) hydrogen-burning stars Lewis & Prinn 1984.
  3. Plusieurs mesures physiques ont indiqué l'existence probable de planètes autour d'étoiles proches spécifiques. Ces mesures incluent gravitational tugs or wobbles caused by the pull of large unseeable objects on the stars, or infrared indications of circumstellar disques de poussière (accompagnements attendus de la formation de planète), ou le lent mouvement rotatif des étoiles (as if they had transferred some of their rotary motion to other bodies which now revolve about them) Hobbs 1986 Hecht 1987 Gatewood 1987. Le travail récent de Campbell sur le décalage Doppler semble confirmer nos attentes positives sur the common occurence of planets around nearby stars Waltrop 1987.

Les conclusions ultérieures de presque tous les théoriciens planétaires et astronomes sont optimistes et éminemment raisonnables :

  1. Les planètes constituent une caractéristique ordinaire naturelle du cosmos ;
  2. Seule notre technologie inadéquate nous empêchent de régler directement la question. A cette position, l'auteur voudrait ajouter le corolaire suivant, qui est la vision de pratiquement toute personne intéressée par les IET ;
  3. Probablement toutes les étoiles semblables au Soleil dans le disque galactique, telles que définies ci-dessus, auront des systèmes planétaires. Dans le termes de l'équation de Drake, la fraction des "soleils" qui sont accompagnés de planètes est très proche de l'unité (fp = 1). Il y a peut-être 6 à 15 milliards d'étoiles du disque semblables au Soleil associées à des systèmes planétaires.
Home  >  La science et l'hypothèse extraterrestre en ufologie

Planets

Home  >  Science and the Extraterrestrial Hypothesis in Ufology  |  Traduction française

Whereas there is almost no confusion about the vast numbers of proper stars, there is an apparent disagreement about planetary systems around them. This "debate" evaporates into a near uniformity of opinion once it is unraveled, however. Planet theorists and observational astronomers are arguing about whether clear evidence exists as yet for an extra-solar planetary system, leading some listeners, perhaps, to conclude that scientists think that planets are rare. Actually, astronomers are nearly universal in their belief that although planets are extremely difficult to detect with our current tools, they are commonplace, almost ubiquitous in the galactic disk. David Black, one of the most eminent planetary researchers, has stated that "Current planetary theories suggest that planets should be the rule rather that then exception" Black 1987. In fact he asserts that if, once our technology improves, we cannot find large numbers of other planetary systems, we will have to revise our whole theory of star formation.

Confidence in numerous planetary systems is based upon more than pure theory. Several lines of research have indicated the overwhelming likelihood of such systems. They include:

  1. Since, in terms of the mechanisms of formation, stars and planets differ from one another only in the amount of mass originally involved in their condensation, the formation of a second star orbiting about a primary is essentially no different than the formation of a big planet. Multiple stars are, therefore, planetary systems wherein at least one "planet" condensed from a lump of the cloud which was so large that it allowed nuclear fusion in the core, and the "planet" became self-luminous, a second star. We can see and count such "planetary systems" quite easily. About one half of our disk stars seem to be in such systems, and on that observation alone the pheonomenon of a larger mass with smaller masses allied to it must be common. Unless there is something unforseenly unique about stellar-sized objects which favors their formation while blocking that of slightly smaller planet-sized objects, planetary systems must be at least as common as double stars.
  2. Our own solar system provides several, not one, examples of such systems. Not only do we have our system at large, but also several mini-systems in the moons of the Jovian planets. Large rotating centers-of-mass seem to naturally acquire secondary bodies revolving about them. An intriguing added fact that the elemental composition of our solar system almost precisely matches the composition of the galactic disk leads to a further intuition as to the normalcy of our situation. Given similar basic materials and forces, what took place here should have taken place elsewhere in the galaxy as standard practice. Leading planetologists John Lewis and Ronald Prinn say: It is widely, but not universally, accepted that stars form from moderately dense nebulae comprising gases and dust with overall elemental abundances essentially identical to those in the sun and in other normal (Main Sequence) hydrogen-burning stars Lewis & Prinn 1984.
  3. Several physical measurements have indicated the probable existence of planets around specific nearby stars. These measurements include gravitational tugs or wobbles caused by the pull of large unseeable objects on the stars, or infrared indications of circumstellar dust disks (expected accompaniments of planet-formation), or the slow rotational movements of stars (as if they had transferred some of their rotary motion to other bodies which now revolve about them) Hobbs 1986 Hecht 1987 Gatewood 1987. Recent Doppler shift work by Campbell seems to confirm our positive expectations on the common occurence of planets around nearby stars Waltrop 1987.

The subsequent conclusions of almost all planetary theorists and astronomers are optimistic and eminently reasonable:

  1. Planets are a natural ordinary feature of the cosmos;
  2. Only our inadequate technology prevents us from directly settling the question. To this position, the current author would add the following corollary, which is the view of almost everyone interested in ETI;
  3. Probably all the sun-like stars in the galactic disk, as defined above, will have planetary systems. In the terms of the Drake Equation, the fraction of "suns" which are accompagnied by planets is very close to unity (fp = 1). There are perhaps 6 to 15 billion sun-like disk stars with associated planetary systems.
Home  >  Science and the Extraterrestrial Hypothesis in Ufology  |  Traduction française